Presidential Selection and Transition

Mission Statement

The Committee on Presidential Selection and Transition is responsible for overseeing a successful selection of and transition for the 17th President of the George Washington University. This includes providing leadership and guidance by:
  • receiving finalist recommendations from the Presidential Search Committee and providing advice to the Board;
  • overseeing a presidential transition process;
  • planning the June 22-24, 2017 Board Retreat on the Presidential Transition;
  • assisting the new president to foster a connection with the students, alumni, faculty, staff, and broader GW community; and
  • overseeing the new president’s review and assessment of the Strategic Plan.
Approved by the Committee on Presidential Selection and Transition on October 20, 2016 and the Board of Trustees on October 21, 2016.


Madeleine Jacobs, Chair
Roslyn Brock
Nelson Carbonell
Mark Chichester

David Karlgaard
Sally Nuamah
Robert Tanenbaum
Ellen Zane